banner image

Grief & Bereavement Counselling

Bereavement and grief can be heavy topics. Bereavement refers to the process of recovering from the loss of a loved one, and grief is a reaction to any form of loss. There are five general stages of grief that most people go through. These include denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. A person can go through these stages in any order and can skip stages all together.

The process of adapting to a loss can dramatically change a person, depending on their background, beliefs, relationship to the person who’s passed, and other factors. Common symptoms of grief can be physical, emotional or social.

A few common symptoms are:


  • Extreme sadness
  • Worrying
  • Feelings of frustration or guilt
  • Obsession with the deceased or death in general
  • Feelings of anger or guilt
  • Numbness
  • Irritability


  • Feeling detached from others
  • Withdrawing from others
  • Behaving in ways that are not normal for you


  • Crying and sighing
  • Headaches
  • Loss of appetite
  • Difficulty sleeping
  • Weakness
  • Fatigue

Every grieving experience is different. A person may be able to continue their day-to-day routine after one loss, yet not be able to get out of bed after the loss of someone else. Whatever your personal symptoms are, grief and bereavement counselling has been proven to help. Please contact me today for a free consultation.